https://jlimnol.it/index.php/jlimnol/issue/feed Journal of Limnology 2020-02-26T17:46:08+00:00 Nadia Moscato nadia.moscato@pagepress.org Open Journal Systems <p>The <strong>Journal of Limnology</strong> publishes peer-reviewed original papers, review papers and notes about all aspects of limnology. The scope of the Journal of Limnology comprises the ecology, biology, microbiology, physics, and chemistry of freshwaters, including the impact of human activities, management and conservation. Coverage includes molecular-, organism-, community-, and ecosystem-level studies on both applied and theoretical issues. Proceedings of workshops, specialized symposia, conferences, may also be accepted for publication.</p> https://jlimnol.it/index.php/jlimnol/article/view/jlimnol.2019.1894 Phosphorus dynamics in a subtropical coastal lake in Southern Brazil 2020-02-26T17:46:07+00:00 Aurea L. Lemes da Silva aurealuizalemes@gmail.com Mariana C. Hennemann mari.henn@gmail.com Mauricio M. Petrucio mpetrucio@gmail.com <p>Temporal and spatial variations of organic and inorganic forms of phosphorus in the sediments of a subtropical oligo-mesotrophic shallow lake were investigated in relation to water column parameters, sediment characteristics and benthic fauna. The main results found were: 1) Phosphorus (P)&nbsp; concentration varied seasonally, with organic P and total P&nbsp; increasing in the sediments in warmer periods; 2) Sediment spatial variation, in terms of grain size composition and organic matter content, influenced P concentrations; 3) quantities and qualities of P in the sediments were positively correlated with water parameters, especially DO and NO<sub>3,</sub> Chl-a,&nbsp; water temperature, pH, and total P. Negative correlations were observed between %OP and DO in sites 1, 3 and 4, and with NO<sub>3 </sub>in sites 2, 3 and 4; 4) benthic functional feeding groups showed significant relationships with temporal variation in sediment P concentration, including gathering-collectors, shredders, filterers and filtering-collectors. The results suggest a high importance of temperature mediated control of sediment-P release, both directly, through its direct effects on primary production and decomposition rates, and indirectly through its effects on other water and sediment parameters, especially dissolved oxygen concentration.</p> 2019-11-11T00:00:00+00:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement## https://jlimnol.it/index.php/jlimnol/article/view/jlimnol.2019.1923 Mountain lakes of Mont Avic Natural Park: ecological features and conservation issues 2020-02-26T17:46:08+00:00 Rocco Tiberti rocco.tiberti@gmail.com Francesco Buscaglia francesco.buscaglia01@universitadipavia.it Marco Armodi marco.armodi@gmail.com Cristiana Callieri cristiana.callieri@irsa.cnr.it Fabio Ribelli fabio.ribelli01@universitadipavia.it Michela Rogora michela.rogora@irsa.cnr.it Gabriele Tartari gabriele.tartari@irsa.cnr.it Massimo Bocca m.bocca@montavic.it <p>Mountain lakes provide some fundamental ecosystem services (i.e., water supply for drinking and energy production) and have an enormous aesthetic and conservation value. Ecological knowledge on mountain lakes, however, is still scarce and limited to a few geographical areas and mainly to abiotic features. To fill this gap, a limnological campaign was carried out on 19 lakes of the Mont Avic Natural Park (Aosta, Western Italian Alps). Bathymetric maps of the lakes are provided in this paper, as is data on the lakes’ physical properties, chemistry, nano- and pico-plankton, zooplankton, littoral macroinvertebrates, amphibians and introduced fish. The aim of this study was to create a reference database of ecological data for the development of new studies and conservation measures/actions. To this end, ecological data are discussed from both a limnological and a conservation perspective, allowing for the identification of major threats affecting the lakes in the protected area. Despite local threats which include water exploitation, organic pollution, and introduced fish, water quality was good. Lake biota can however be affected by such threats, in particular introduced fish (Salmonidae and Cyprinidae), representing a challenging conservation problem.</p> 2019-11-08T00:00:00+00:00 ##submission.copyrightStatement##